Skip to content ↓

Compass Primary School

Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage has 7 areas of learning including prime and specific areas.


Primes Areas:

Communication, Language and Literacy

Personal, Social and

Emotional development

Physical development

          Specific areas:



Understanding the world

Expressive arts and design



All of the areas of learning are promoted through indoor and outdoor provision. The children take part in group activities such as singing and story times, as well as having the opportunity to explore their own interests and fascinations through play. Our highly skilled staff observe and assess our children to ensure they are challenged and their learning needs are met. From secure knowledge of the EYFS our staff confidently plan for the next steps in each child’s learning.